

## 2024 MAX Awards profile potential, capacity and excellence in NWT mining and exploration

The bar was set at "Excellence" last night as the NWT's mining and exploration sector recognized and awarded the stand-out businesses, corporations, organizations and individuals that contributed to its success in 2024.

Dubbed the "Max Awards", (an abbreviation of mining and exploration), the annual event concludes the Yellowknife Geoscience Forum and is supported by the NWT and Nunavut Chamber of Mines and the Government of the Northwest Territories' Department of Industry Tourism and Investment.

This year, seven Max awards were presented showcasing a wide-ranging level of corporate and individual service, dedication and commitment.

Dr. Michael Stubley was recognized (posthumously) with a Distinguished Service Award for a lifetime of commitment to geological mapping and research in the NWT.

With a variety of companies and partnerships in place across many industries, and almost 90% of its 400-plus work force living in the NWT, the Tlicho Investment Corporation was recognized for its economic leadership.

Meanwhile, two notable environmental initiatives: the restoration of Yellowknife's Frame Lake and the activation of a 6,600-solar panel power plant on its mine site, saw the Diavik Diamond Mine recognized with the Environmental, Social & Governance Award.

Corporately, Burgandy Diamond Mines Ltd. and DeBeers also received Max awards while Angela Balsillie, Adam Bembridge, Kelly Brenton and Darcy Sinclair were each recognized for extraordinary individual contributions to the NWT's mining industry.

In 2012, the annual Max Awards began a tradition of raising and donating funds to the Yellowknife Adopt a Family Program.

This year, \$33,000 was raised by attendees for the seasonal charity, including \$17,500 generated from the auction of a pendant designed by Adamas Diamonds and featuring diamonds donated by each of the NWT's operating mines.

## Full list of Winners – 2024 Max Awards

- Distinguished Service Dr. Michael Stubley
- Honourary Achievement Angela Balsillie
- Economic Leadership Tlicho Investment Corporation
- Environmental, Social, Governance (ESG) Diavik Diamon Mines
- Indigenous Achievement Darcy Sinclair
- Social Achievement Adam Bembridge
- Women In Mining Kelly Brenton
- Safety (WSCC) Burgundy Diamond Mines Ltd.
- Outstanding Achievement, Mining Reclamation DeBeers Group (Snap Lake Closure Project)

For more information, including detailed descriptions of awards and their recipients, contact:



